top of page

Welcome to the Official Website of the Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity Incorporated


Chapter History 

On September 9, 2016, the Mighty Sixth District’s District Representative (DR), Brother Howard Jackson, Brother Melvin Mitchell, First Vice Sixth District Representative, and Brother Jack Martin Jr., Sixth District North Carolina Protocol Chair met with Methodist University’s William Walker, Vice President for Student Affairs & Dean of Students to gain approval to establish a Chapter on the campus of Methodist University. Mr. Williams Walker approved Bro Jackson’s request to establish an Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Chapter on Methodist University. During this meeting, Bro Howard Jackson instructed Brother Jack Martin to take the lead in getting a chapter established on Methodist University for the Mighty Sixth District and Mr. Walker appointed Mr. Tavares Hunter, Student Solution Coordinator as Methodist University’s representative in this effort.

After completing Methodist University’s application packet, attending several meetings, and providing briefings with the: Methodist University’s Coordinator of Fraternity & Sorority Life, University’s Staff, and Students, the foundation was laid by Brother Jack Martin to start an Omega Chapter on Methodist University’s campus. With the assistance of Mr. Tavares Hunter, in January 2017 nine undergraduate students were selected for Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. Membership Selection Program (MSP). The January MSP process was canceled and later that year “September 2017”, Brother Martin and Brother Hunter selected another nine undergraduate students to enter the MSP process. Eight undergraduate Students completed the Membership Selection Program. On 1 December 2017 the Charter line "Eight Chosen Lords of Promise" Brothers’ James Clyde, Jamsly Louizuis, John English Jr., Joshua Carter, Kenton Shelton, Kelvin Waites, Troynelle Reese Jr., and Arthur Raines were read into Omega. In March 2018 Brother Martin completed and submitted a Charter application with required fees to The Mighty Sixth District’s District Representative and the Supreme Council of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. to establish an Undergraduate Chapter of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. on the campus of Methodist University, Fayetteville NC 28311. On 20 January 2018 Alpha Epsilon Alpha (AEA) Chapter #358 was chartered on Methodist University by the Supreme Council of Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc.

On 28 April 2018 at the Mighty Sixth District Annual Meeting Parliamentary Session, Brother Antonio F. Knox, Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc 40th Grand Basileus, and Brother Howard Jackson Sixth District Representative presented AEA Chapter its Chapter Charter. Brother Kenton Shelton, AEA Basileus received AEA’s Chapter Charter from Brother Jackson and he appointed Brother Jack Martin Jr. as AEA Chapter District’s Undergraduate Advisor and Tau Gamma Gamma Chapter " Home of the Airborne Ques" as the Advising Graduate Chapter. The first elected officers of the AEA Chapter were: Basileus Brother Kenton Shelton, Vice Basileus Brother Joshua Carter, Keeper of Records Seals John English Jr., and Keeper of Finance Brother Kelvin Waites. Long Live Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Incorporated, and may the light of Omega continue to shine on Alpha Epsilon Alpha Chapter.

Chapter Members

Fall 2017

"Eight Chosen Lords of Promise"

James Clyde Jr.

Jamsly Louizuis

John English Jr.

Joshua Carter

Kenton Shelton

Kelvin Waites Jr.

Arthur Raines Jr.

Troynell Reese ll

Spring 19

"Four TenaciouQ Erudite's"

Tracy Fusilier

Brandon Bagley

Patrick Brannen

Ja-Quez Harrell


Spring 20

"The Owtbreak"

Ardarius Eaddy

National History

National History

Omega Psi Phi Fraternity, Inc. is the first international fraternal organization founded on the campus of a historically black college.

On the evening of November 17, 1911, Omega Psi Phi was founded inside the Science Building (later renamed Thirkield Hall) at Howard University located in Washington, D.C.

The founders were three undergraduates — Edgar Amos Love, Oscar James Cooper, and Frank Coleman. Joining them was their faculty adviser, Ernest Everett Just.

From the initials of the Greek phrase meaning, “friendship is essential to the soul“, the name Omega Psi Phi was derived. That phrase was selected as the motto.

Manhood, Scholarship, Perseverance, and Uplift were adopted as Cardinal Principles.

On November 23, 1911, Edgar A. Love became the first Grand Basileus (National President). Oscar J. Cooper and Frank Coleman were selected to be the Grand Keeper of the Records (National Secretary) and Grand Keeper of Seals (National Treasurer), respectively. Eleven undergraduate men were selected to become the charter members.

The Alpha Chapter was organized with fourteen charter members on December 15, 1911. Brothers Edgar A. Love, Oscar J. Cooper, and Frank Coleman were elected the chapter’s first Basileus, Keeper of Records, and Keeper of Seals, respectively.

Brother Cooper became the fraternity’s second Grand Basileus in 1912 and authorized the investigation of establishing a second chapter on the campus of Lincoln University located in Pennsylvania.

Brother Love was elected as the third Grand Basileus in 1912 and served until 1915. In 1912, Howard University officials did not initially recognize the fraternity as a national organization and Omega Psi Phi’s leadership refused to accept limited recognition. As a result, the fraternity operated without official sanction, until the university withdrew its opposition in 1914, the same year Beta chapter was chartered at Lincoln University.

Omega Psi Phi was incorporated under the laws of the District of Columbia on October 28, 1914. Brother George E. Hall, the fourth Grand Basileus, authorized the establishment of the Gamma chapter in Boston.

Brother Clarence F. Holmes served as Omega’s sixth Grand Basileus. Under his leadership, the fraternity’s first official hymn, “Omega Men Draw Nigh,” was written by Otto Bohannon.

Omega played a vital role when the United States entered World War I in 1917 by having several brothers in the first class of black soldiers graduate from Camp Fort Des Moines, a military training facility located in Iowa.

Several Omegas, including Campbell C. Johnson, John Purnell, and founders Frank Coleman and Edgar A. Love are among its graduates.

A year later in 1918, retired Colonel Charles Young, rode 500 miles on horseback, from Wilberforce, Ohio, to the nation’s capital, to show he was always fit for duty.

Stanley Douglas served as editor to the first Oracle which was published in the spring of 1919.

In 1919, Raymond G. Robinson, the seventh Grand Basileus, established Delta chapter on the campus of Meharry Medical School which is located in Nashville, Tennessee.

Stanley Douglas served as Editor of the Oracle which was first published in the spring of 1919. When Robinson left office in 1920 there were ten chapters in operation.

Harold H. Thomas, the eighth Grand Basileus, was elected at the Nashville Grand Conclave in 1920.

During this Conclave, Carter G. Woodson inspired the establishment of National Achievement Week to promote the study of Negro life and history.

The Atlanta Grand Conclave in 1921 brought an end to the fraternity’s first decade.

Ques in Action
Current Members

Meet the Chapter

AEA Undergraduate Advisors

Meet the Advisors

Upcoming Events

Semester Events